Wine Publication #7

How “Merlot” can you go!

Open up your brain tanks everyone, I’m about to pour some premium Vino knowledge! It is amazing since I’ve started this blog how many questions people message me every week about food and wine. The most recurring question I get is about which wines pairs best with certain foods/cuisine.

I want to first start off by saying, drink what you like! Dont let the snobby wine talk get you down. Over 90% of people in the wine world couldn’t tell, or care the difference between a $10 bottle and a $100 bottle (the best bottle of wine I ever had the pleasure of tasting was sold to me for $3 dollars out of a gentleman’s basement). With wine, comes rules and with rules the enjoyment factor is diminished. It is a beverage that is meant to bring together families and friends and be shared with good conversation. Take it from me, more often than not you tend to throw your inhibitions to the wind allowing for some much-needed frivolity!

Now don’t get me wrong. The wine pairing idea is not a hoax and for the most part is quite valid. It is true that certain varietals of wine can enhance certain types of cuisine. However, I tend to typically drink red wine and don’t give a shit if a nice Riesling will compliment my fettucine alfredo (but that doesn’t mean I havent tried it)! the idea is to drink what you like but not be afraid to try new things! So when you are hosting your next dinner party or out for a nice meal try pairing with what you are going to order *BUT ONLY IF YOU LIKE THE SUGGESTION*

Enough Rambling, this chart should be of some help:

and as always,

Buon Appetito America!

JCL

Leave a Reply

